Two Books That Will Change Your Life – For Reals!

I know, we’ve heard this so many times….”this cake recipe will change your life”, “this job will change your life”, “yoga will change your life”.  Well, the cake recipe only changed my thighs.  The job became the bane of my life.  And the yoga…actually, the yoga did change my life, but that’s for a different post.  That’s why I only have two books on this list, because they actually did rock my world.

1.  The Food Revolution: How Your Diet Can Help Save Your Life and Our World :  John Robbins

Image

I read this book on a boring Sunday.  I really could not have cared less about diet or food, having always eaten whatever I wanted.  I thought vegetables were something rabbits ate and used to tease my vegetarian friends (yes, I was one of those people who I complained about in a previous post). Suffice to say, this was not 50 Shades of Grey – there were no titillating tales, there was no tabloid journalism.

But this book completely changed my relationship to animals and to food.  His book was indeed ‘revolutionary’ at the time it was published.  Since then, there have been countless other books about factory farming.   But in this book, the author gently introduces you to these practices without inundating you with horror stories. He writes at a pace that allows you to digest the information he’s presenting and he gives clear guidelines as to what you can do if you are affected by the book.

John Robbins is actually the son of the man who opened Baskin Robbins, the huge ice-cream chain.  He was set up to be the heir to this fortune, until he understood what actually goes on in the dairy industry.  His book is therefore very personal, and written from the heart, whilst being meticulously researched. I turned vegan that Sunday, despite being a card-carrying meat-eater and ice-cream-lover the day before.  I hate people who preach about their lifestyle choices, so I won’t do that here.  But if this book simply inspires you to have another look at what you’re eating, that’s good enough.

2.  The Other End of the Leash : Patricia B. McConnell

Image

Patricia McConnell has an incredible writing ‘voice’.  Her humanity, kindness and humour shines in every page of this book.    This is not some fluffy ‘dog whisperer’ type of book.  She really knows her stuff.

I came to this book after spending hundreds of dollars on ‘dog psychologists’, ‘behaviourists’, etc.  I felt that I was getting all these rules and advice about how to train my dogs (some of which was good advice), but my relationship with my dogs was suffering as I wanted to force them to ‘heel’ or whatever.  I had a particularly distasteful experience when I went to a famed dog training school.  The teachers forced us to use ‘choker chains’ to teach our dogs to walk, even though they were perfectly capable of walking on normal collars.  The military-style teacher barked at my husband “Pull the chain harder, you’re too soft on your dogs!” whilst the dogs looked terrified.  We walked out of that class halfway in.

 Don’t get me wrong, there are some fantastic trainers around, but we often ignore our gut feeling about some of the dodgy ones because they are the ‘experts’.    This book is all about how to maintain and enhance your relationship with your dog, even if your dog can’t do a perfect ‘heel’.  Again, it’s a very personal book, written with a great deal of passion.

What books have changed your life?  

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Two Books That Will Change Your Life – For Reals!

  1. greenbee3 says:

    After reading your post, I purchased The Food Revolution. I’m about half way through and thoroughly enjoying it. As a vegetarian it may seem unsurprising that I am enjoying a book that validates my lifestyle. However, I agree with you on how it effectively it teaches without the horror stories, and gently encourages rather than being preachy. Thank you for the recommendation.

    • Thank you, so lovely to hear you’re enjoying it! It certainly was an eye-opening experience for me. Hope to include more book reviews in the future; let me know if you have any recommendations 🙂

  2. kddyer89 says:

    I don’t know if you have heard of the book about “Gracie” the dog, but that is one that I definitely recommend, but keep the tissues handy!! (:

  3. I loved the other end of the leash! Must read it again.
    I read Jon Kabat Zinn’s Full Catastrophe Living whilst doing massage training and I reckon that helped change my life for the better.

    • I’ve heard that’s a great book; a good friend of mine read it and she said it changed her life! I’ve got his mindfulness workbook but never got into it, I’m not really a ‘workbook’ kinda gal 🙂 must check out Full Catastrophe Living…

Leave a Reply

